Head vs. Heart (There’s More series, pt. 2)

Image courtesy of atibodyphoto at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of atibodyphoto at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

I’ve tried to write this post so many times. Like, a record number. Perhaps some reasons are:

1) When I look at this past month, some pretty big things have happened. Some on the surface, but most of them down deep. God’s up to something, and the waters are churning. It’s almost hard to focus on any one thing to write about.

2) This is going to be a series and first, non-intro pieces need to be a certain way, or so my perfectionist nature is telling me. But I don’t entirely know how I’ll be going about all this, so I’m just canon-balling in and maybe I’ll learn to dive later. Maybe.

3) This stuff is tough! And it hurts! ‘Nuff said, right?

So, for this post, rather than write from a certain angle, I’d like to raise a topic and then hear what you have to say. What’s been on my mind (and heart) lately is, funnily enough, head vs. heart.

#

“Is love essential for survival?”

The question has come out of my mouth so many times, but I still don’t know the answer. My head says one thing, my heart another.

Head vs. heart. I can’t remember a time when those two have not been at war within me. My heart is always vocal, but my head regularly prevails.

When it comes to the love of God, head vs. heart is tough territory. I’m currently reading Crazy Love by Francis Chan, and this following passage got me thinking:

“If you’ve spent any time in church, you’ve heard expressed, in some form or another, the idea that God loves us. I believed this for years because, as the song puts it, ‘the Bible tells me so.’ The only problem is that it was a concept I was taught, not something I implicitly knew to be true. For years I ‘got’ God’s love in my head, checked the right answer on the ‘what God is like’ test, but didn’t fully understand it with my heart.

“I don’t think I’m the only person who has misunderstood God’s love. Most of us, to some degree, have a difficult time understanding, believing, or accepting God’s absolute and unlimited love for us. The reasons we don’t receive, trust, or see His love vary from one person to the next, but we all miss out because of it.”

I don’t want to miss out any more. What about you?

The question is, how do we change the pattern?

I recall the Jason Gray lyrics, “More like falling in love than giving my allegiance. More like losing my heart than something to believe in.”

How does a head person fall heart-first?

Let’s share. Are you a head or heart person? How does it affect your relationship with God and how you receive His love?

 

7 comments on “Head vs. Heart (There’s More series, pt. 2)

  1. Francis Madler says:

    Keep up the good work Meagan.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My thought: Yes we need love. Love is what we were made for, it’s the backbone of relationship. Without it a relationship can be there, but it doesn’t stand up and doesn’t get you anywhere.
    Love is what brings certainty, trust, and confidence (I know they all sound like the same word, but they do manifest differently within a relationship).
    But how do we go from simply knowing about God’s love versus actually experiencing it. We build the relationship. We know the love is there to have. So don’t stay in the boat, let him call you out onto the water. Don’t just pray for the simple easy things, pray for the hard things (specific things) and watch Him work. Don’t just tell Him what you tell everyone else, tell Him the things you’re afraid to tell everyone else.
    We need to speak about what He’s done. We hide our relationship with God in a closet because somehow we feel like it’s weird to have Him as someone actually in our lives, but people we love we talk about. We remind ourselves what they’ve done and we reminisce on it.
    But most important we have to be ready to look to Him in every situation and see what it is He is doing. We can miss the incredibleness of who He is and what He has offered us when being out walking on that water we are suddenly panicking about the waves. We demand for Him to take away the scary things when instead if we were just focused on Him, we’d realize His love is holding us above the very water itself. So in the end it’s not that the love is missing or just not available to experience, it’s that we’re not focused on it and are instead distracted with everything else.
    Anyway, there are my random thoughts on the matter. : )

    Like

  3. donnalhsmith says:

    Ah Meagan…I think you’re due for an encounter, an amazing, all-encompassing, drastic, and life-changing encounter in your heart – with God. I’m reminded of the old song, “Pass it On.” There’s a line in there that says, “…once you’ve experienced it…you spread His love to everyone…you want to pass it on.” Once you’ve experienced it. That is the key. Otherwise, it IS just “in the head.” You’re already engaging with the God of your heart. I love it! But that’s how I got “saved.” I grew up in church, said everything you did. And a young man asked me if I’d ever EXPERIENCED God. What? God can be “experienced?” My United Methodist upbringing had never talked to me about that. Keep coming, Meagan. You’re about to EXPERIENCE the wonderful, powerful, majestic, and LOVING God! Woo-hoo! I can’t wait to hear! Blessings on you! The Body of Christ NEEDS this message today! 🙂

    Like

  4. Tiffany Rott says:

    What a good post. I really had to think about this for a minute.

    In my mind, love and trust go hand-in-hand. I’m not sure which comes first. Do I love because I trust, or do I trust because I love? I really don’t know. Maybe my head and heart are still fighting to see who’ll win. 🙂

    What I do know is that I’m going through one of the toughest, most hurtful, confusing times in my life right now. I trust that God has a purpose for it. I trust that God doesn’t waste pain. I trust that God will bring me through this, stronger in Him on the other side. I trust that God will take care of me every minute of every day. And because I trust Him for those things, I am completely resting in His love…really clinging to it. At the moment, that’s all I can do. Just trust and rest in His love.

    I’m not even sure that this directly speaks to your post, but it was good for me to think through this question in my own life, so thank you! 😀

    Like

    • Wow, that’s a great point about love and trust. I see exactly what you mean. Thank you for sharing. I’m sorry to hear about this present difficult season though, Tiffany. But I’m encouraged to hear your perspective through this and know He is and will be using this time for good. Stay strong in Him! Will be praying for you.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

