The Power of the Impossible

What a crazy few months it’s been! Thought with this month’s post I’d give a bit of an update.

I recently got back home from my working traveling adventure. Three months, fourteen states, and 12,000 miles later, I’m energized and ready to dive into another writing project. My next manuscript, In Lieu of a Plot, will be a full-fledged rewrite/ironing out of last year’s NaNoWriMo project. This story just won’t let me go, so I’m going to pounce on it and put it to page–officially, this time. (Meaning, other people’s eyes will be allowed to see it. Eventually.)

So, even though ILOAP is what I call a humorous historical, I’m presently researching funeral customs in all its morbid details and am learning interesting things along the way. For example, did you know that the word “parlor,” referring to a home’s sitting room, went out the window in 1910 when funeral homes began calling themselves funeral parlors? The Ladies Home Journal banned use of the word in its writings, preferring instead the term “living room.” Guess they felt rather strongly about it!

So, that’s a little bit about where I am right now. And now, some thoughts from where I sit…

* * *

“The Impossible” by Joe Nichols has been featuring a lot on one of my favorite Pandora stations. All I have to do is play the station for a little while and, sure enough, there it is.

In a similar way, it doesn’t take too much searching to see what seems impossible, whether it’s in one’s health, prospects, family, church, nation, or the general state of humanity. Impossibilities are not something we need to look for: they’re there in what seems overwhelming numbers, appearing to outweigh life’s limited allowance of God-sent miracles.

How pessimistic, you might be saying. Bear with me! I promise I’m not just in some gloomy mood.

I would consider myself a realist. (By the way, I think realists are just people who wanted to be optimists but let disappointment and seeming impossibilities make them stop hoping for better. Preaching to the choir here!) Anyway, realists, like pessimists, have a tendency to look at what’s been in order to put the future into perspective. Extrapolation, if you will: assuming an unknown from a known.

I’ve extrapolated hopelessness from a situation more often than my testimony as a Christian should allow. Looking at a situation’s track record, I all too readily throw the stats up in the air and walk away.

But lately I am reminded that no track record is stellar but God’s. Any extrapolating I do based on anything but Him will only lead to hopelessness.

“I am the Lord, the God of every person on the earth. Nothing is impossible for me” (Jeremiah 32:27 NCV).

So, while Joe Nichols reminds me “…there’s no such thing as hopeless if you believe,” I’m going to keep believing in the God who is bigger than any situation, nation, or extrapolation, and for Whom impossibility isn’t even a consideration. Because sometimes, it’s not until you encounter the impossible that God shows that the only thing bigger than an impossibility is Himself.

 

Share your thoughts. What have you faced that was seemingly impossible until God showed otherwise?

6 comments on “The Power of the Impossible

  1. Lizzie says:

    Love this as always, Meagan!! 🙂

    I’m actually an idealist (which comes with its own set of problems! 😉 ), but I’ve gone through plenty of seasons that looked hopeless and where I extrapolated experiences rather than believed God or hoped for the impossible.(Love how you said that! “…Any extrapolating I do based on anything but Him will always lead to hopelessness.”) TWEET. 😉

    Have been thinking a lot lately actually about how hope might actually be necessary for human existence (any meaningful kind, anyway) and of how it’s a form of belief I think God looks for. What do you think?

    Impossible stuff– so many things! 🙂 Moving. The retreat for a while. Making back what we spent, let alone making a profit. Finding hope again, being healed of heart-hurts I didn’t know could be healed. Believing without a shadow of a doubt in God’s love. More things than I can count! 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks for dropping by and sharing, Lizzie. I think you’re right about hope being necessary for existence, at least to the extent of our hope being in God. Faith, essentially–without which it’s impossible to please God, and since faith is the substance of things hoped for, I think they can go hand in hand, and in so doing become both a way to please God and to sustain life. Hope, like faith, is a conscious effort, I believe, which is why the only extrapolating I should be doing should be based on faith and God’s promises. And yes, I do agree that God looks for our faith/hope. As He did with Abraham before he almost sacrificed Isaac. Our faith should be in deed as well as in words.

      Great points, Lizzie. I’ll pray for increased faith-based extrapolating for you (wow, that’s a mouthful) if you could do the same for me. 🙂

      Like

  2. Hi Meagan! Your mention of researching funerals reminded me of a blog I read sometimes. If you haven’t already found it, Confessions of a Funeral Director has a lot of information. Just wanted to share that in case you would find it helpful!

    PS–My apologies if you get this twice. I think WordPress ate the first attempt.

    Like

Leave a Reply

