Bookshelf Challenge

file000123053959I have been nominated for the Bookshelf Challenge by Donna L. H. Smith. (Check out her blog here.) It sounds like fun, and hope you enjoy.

The Rules For the Bookshelf Tag:

Answer the following questions about books, and then tag five other bloggers. You can answer the questions any way you want, whether it’s on your blog, in a video, or a combination of the two. Then remember to let whoever tagged you know when your post is up so they can read it.

1) Is there a book that you really want to read but haven’t because you know that it’ll make you cry?

Though I feel deeply, I don’t cry easily. And, perverse as it may sound, I actually seek out books that I think will make me cry because I want to read books that require emotional involvement from me and because such books often have the greatest depth. I’ve only shed tears through a handful of books, so if you have any recommendations, I’d like to hear them.

On the other hand, I have shied away from a book or two that I know will be just plain depressing or too close to home.

2) Pick one book that helped introduce you to a new genre.

Survivor by DiAnn Mills. Hadn’t read any FBI suspense novels before.

3) Find a book that you want to reread.

Joan of Arc by Mark Twain.

4) Is there a book series you read but wish that you hadn’t?

Like life, every book is an experience that can be learned from one way or another. So, there are none that I regret reading, and I wouldn’t have finished any series I really didn’t wish to. So, no.

5) If your house were burning down and all of your family and pets were safe, which book would you go back inside to save?

I wouldn’t want to lose my Bible because it’d be terrible to lose the notes, highlights, etc., and I’d hate to lose my journals. I just couldn’t replace those books as easily as I could novels.

6) Is there one book on your bookshelf that brings back fond memories?

The ones I’ve read more than once over several years. The memories I have of reading Christy span ten years, two countries, and several readings. The person who starts it is never the same person who finishes it, and that’s one thing I love about it.

7) Find a book that has inspired you the most.

Christy inspired me a lot, but for the sake of another example, I’d have to say Candle in the Darkness by Lynn Austin reached me as no other book has. It inspired me to be a better writer and Christian, and gave me the dream of screenwriting, mainly because it was the first book I’d read which I wish had already been made into a film.

8) Do you have any autographed books?

A handful. My favorites are I, Saul by Jerry B. Jenkins and Survivor by my mentor, DiAnn Mills.

9) Find the book that you have owned the longest.

Chronicles of Avonlea. There are others, but they’re not on my bookcase. This book was old when I got it, and the cover is water-logged, the pages yellow.

10) Is there a book by an author that you never imagined you would read or enjoy?

A Walk to Remember by Nicholas Sparks. Never thought I’d read a Nicholas Sparks book, but I’d heard good things about A Walk to Remember and truly enjoyed reading it.

The amazing bloggers I now nominate are:

Elizabeth Veldboom at All Things Novel

Tiffany Rott at TiffanyRott.wordpress.com

Suzannah Rowntree at Vintage Novels

If you’d like to keep updated with The Empty Inkwell, consider following me on Facebook and Twitter.

4 comments on “Bookshelf Challenge

  1. donnalhsmith says:

    I’m so glad you enjoyed that. Here’s another one for you if you’re up to it! The One Lovely Blog Award. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Suzannah says:

    What a fun challenge, Meagan! I’ve finally got my answers up here: http://www.vintagenovels.com/2014/09/bookshelf-challenge.html

    That first question was a little difficult–I don’t tend to cry over books either. And when I do, I often don’t enjoy the experience. Paul Gallico’s JENNY was pretty traumatising 😥

    Like

Leave a Reply

