One Part Calling, Another Part Compulsion

Not long ago, someone asked why I chose to pursue writing. Responses for how, when, and where came to mind, but why was more elusive. After a moment’s consideration, the only way I could describe it was: “It was one part calling, another part compulsion.”

Eric Liddell, portrayed in the film Chariots of Fire, said, “I believe God made me for a purpose, but he also made me fast. And when I run, I feel His pleasure.” Now, I’m no runner, but fortunately, this principle applies to everyone. I know that when I write, I feel His pleasure. Some days behind the desk can be brutal but never worse than the days spent away, fighting this compulsion-calling.

The moment my weary heart returns to my keyboard to pour out what little it has, it is renewed by an indescribable joy of purpose. When I write, I feel His pleasure. And that makes me pleased.

Are you called to write? Can you not keep away from writing? Then write! And do it with all your heart.

2 comments on “One Part Calling, Another Part Compulsion

  1. Francis Madler says:

    Just keep writing & I will keep reading Meagan.

    Like

Leave a Reply

