It’s That Time Again

Tomorrow–can it really be?–I’ll be winging my way to Colorado Springs for the Writing for the Soul conference. I’m so excited to learn, network, and meet up with friends.

If you’ve never been to a writer’s conference, it’s a paradoxical thing that wears you thin and fills you to overflowing at the same time. Before I’d ever been to one, I envisioned them as a sophisticated type of club meeting where stereotypical writers (tweed suits and librarian glasses galore) hobnobbed and gushed morning, noon, and night for an extended weekend. I was wrong–and happily so.

Imagine, if you will, a few hundred writers in one place, buzzing on five hours of sleep and as many cups of coffee, flitting from lecture to appointments to meals and back to classes. Conversation never, ever runs low. As I’ve heard a conferee describe it, it’s one of the few places where everyone around you understands that you sometimes kill off people in your head.

I hope to have much to share after I return from Writing for the Soul. For now, I’ll leave you with some photos of last year’s conference in the hopes of persuading you to come next year.

P1120715

Jerry B. Jenkins, author of the Left Behind series, addressing Writing for the Soul conferees.

The venue, the Broadmoor Hotel, at sunrise.

The venue, the Broadmoor Hotel, at sunrise.

Taking a post-conference tour of the Broadmoor.

Taking a post-conference tour of the Broadmoor.

One comment on “It’s That Time Again

  1. Francis Madler says:

    I am really glad for you Meagan, Have a great time at Colo. Springs.

    Like

Leave a Reply

